Norwood scale is a scale used to identify the stage of hair loss in males, there are seven levels or stages of hair loss in the Norwood Scale. Should you consult with the hair loss experts at GetHair, we can help you to understand what level of hair loss you’re currently experiencing, but it’s still a good idea to understand how far your hair loss has progressed so that you can consider all the treatment options available to you.

In order to understand your hair loss level it is important that you know what Norwood scale is and how to read it.

Norwood Hair Loss Type 1

This level doesn’t necessarily denote male pattern baldness because most males find that their hairline recedes slightly with age.

Norwood scale 1

Norwood Hair Loss Type 2 🤩

If you’re at this level of hair loss, it’s almost certain that you’re experiencing male pattern baldness, however, you may simply be genetically predisposed to temporal recession. If you seek treatment at this early stage, there’s a very good chance that you can regain most of the hair that you’ve lost quite affordably.

Norwood Scale 2 is the best position a person can be in in terms of hair loss level. The satisfaction level of these patients are extremely high post op.

One important point to consider is whether the patient is still experiencing hair loss or not. If the patient is still experiencing hair loss then additional measures should be taken to stop further hair loss.

Norwood 3 & Norwood 3A 😃

A slightly more advanced level of hair loss compared to Norwood 2. Norwood 3 patients are still very good candidates for a hair transplant surgery since the of thin/bald areas are quite small.

In most cases a single hair transplant surgery is enough to cover all the bald areas and provide a good density.

There are 2 further types – 3A, in which the crown thins but doesn’t recede along with the rest of the hairline, and 3 Vertex, which also entails a slight bald spot appearing on the top of the scalp.

Norwood 3A Vertex

Norwood 4 😃

Norwood 4 and 4A are considered as advanced level hair loss. Patients with this level of hair loss are still mostly good candidates for hair transplant surgery, assuming their donor region can supply sufficient amounts of hair grafts and they have realistic exceptions.

Like Type 3, there’s a Type 4A, which entails further thinning at the crown and lesser density on the top of the head.

Norwood 4A 🤔

Norwood 5 🤔

Type 5 and Type 5A are a continuation of the hair loss described above. At this stage the hairline has receded extremely or has completely disappeared.

There is also be a noticeable bald spot or extensive thinning appearing on the top of the scalp.

Men having Norwood 5 and 5A level hair loss might still be acceptable candidates for a hair transplant operation providing they have a strong donor region and realistic expectations.

Norwood 5A 🤔

Norwood 6 😞

Men with Norwood 6 level hair loss have no hairline and a prominent bald spot, with the hair on the sides of the scalp still remaining fairly high.

Unfortunately, Norwood 6 patients are not considered as good candidates for a hair transplant. Our doctors and many other ethical doctors will not accept Norwood 6 patients.

Norwood 7 😞

Norwood 7 is the most severe stage of hair loss. At this stage the person has no hairline and in most cases no hair on the top and crown region of the head. The hair on the sides of the scalp will have mostly disappeared, leaving only a wreath around the sides.

Men with Norwood 7 hair loss level are not considered as a suitable candidate for hair transplant surgery.

As one of the top hair transplant specialists in London – all treatments are performed in Istanbul,Turkey by our surgeon with more than 20 years’ hair transplant experience – we can help you understand the level of baldness that you’ve progressed to and advise you of the options you have available. Get in touch today to learn more about FUE hair transplant therapy.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.